What in the World?!

That was the question that I exclaimed when I first saw Prince and Kuma last night at Austin Pets Alive! I walk dogs there every Tuesday evening, and those two just didn’t look like dogs to me from far away.

They are, of course, cute dogs — long-hair chihuahua mixes. And they’re available for adoption.

If you’re not ready to adopt, we always need volunteer walkers. There is no better feeling in the world than ending the day by loving on a dog, making sure they’ve done business and had a treat or two, and then tucking them in for the night. Last night I walked one pup who has probably only been on a leash three times in her life. She was scared and so unsure of what to do. I spent about 20 minutes with her just getting used to the leash on her collar and walking as slowly as she wanted to go. At the end of that 20 minutes, I was getting kisses on the ear. Volunteers make a difference, and these two faces, and my much-loved ear, were the perfect reminder.

Leave a comment