A Passion for Jazz

Sweet Jazz at the Park

Sweet Jazz at the Park

I’ve been hearing for ages now how we should all follow our passions. That when we choose to follow our passions, the happiness (and hopefully the paycheck) is sure to follow.

I love my job and have no desire to leave it, but I also know I still need to follow my passions: Pets and photography. So I’ve decided to try to do some volunteer work involving the two. And sweet Jazz helped me bring all of that together in my mind.

Several months ago, my mom asked me to photograph Jazz for a friend of hers. Jazz was getting old and having a hard time getting around. Mom just thought it would be a great idea for me to take a few pictures of Jazz while she was still healthy enough to play in the park. A way for me to have some fun and practice with my camera, and a way for her friend to be able to look back and think of healthier, happier times. It was my pleasure to do so.

That one morning at the park with Jazz made me realize that other families might be facing the same issue: losing their beloved pet sooner than they’d like. I simply want to be able to offer a lasting memory to them.

My plan: Talk to my vet, the one who takes wonderful care of our five four-legged babies, and see if she knows of families in the area who might appreciate a fellow pet lover capturing some great portraits of their beloved pets before age and illness step in.

More to come as I hash it all out in my brain.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “A Passion for Jazz”

  1. Megan Says:

    What a great idea, Summer!

  2. jodi Says:

    summer, this is so wonderful!

    i’ve been thinking about trying to volunteer at pet shelters to take photos of the adoptable animals. especially after seeing so many shoddy ones on petfinder. =)

    • Summer Huggins Says:

      I think that’s an awesome idea! My only hesitation is that I would want to bring them ALL HOME!

  3. Mindy Says:

    What a great thing for you to do for our
    little 4 legged loved ones!

  4. Cindy Says:

    Best of luck on your plan. I recently lost my 12 year old chocolate lab to cancer and although I took many pictures of her through her dog years, I wish I had taken hundreds more. At least I have my friend’s two labs to continue to photograph.

  5. Shannon McRae Says:

    hey Summer,
    I wandered over here from one of your Twitter posts. Love this idea! Hope it’s going well for you, Sweet Ricky Martin has taken a downhill turn in the past few months–diabetes that isn’t responding too great to insulin. This 12yo guy is my heart, and I can’t imagine a day without him. I’ve been taking lots of pics lately…wish Austin were closer so you could get some good ones : ) Miss chatting–even via IM or email! Hope you and Cole and boys are well!

Leave a Reply

