On Vixen

A black beauty

About three weeks ago, I started walking dogs one evening a week at the Austin Pets Alive! building. It’s hard to explain the pure joy that comes at the end of two hours of walking excited dogs when everyone has spent time outside, they’ve done their business and they’ve gotten lots of love, then they settle in to a warm blanket and some soft music and everyone in the building falls asleep. It’s honestly, after all the craziness of the day and the occasional “take me out next” barking, one of the most peaceful things I’ve ever seen.

Well, that first week, I met a beautiful solid black dog with bright golden eyes named Vixen. She didn’t want to go outside. She didn’t even want to come out of her kennel. With some patience, a couple of treats and some gentle encouragement, we finally got her outside to do some business. She turned right around and headed for the building and the safety of her kennel.

Last week, I got to take her outside. She was still a bit hesitant again, and I recalled her nervousness the week before, so I just let her take it slow and easy. She did her business for me, took a few steps and then flopped onto her back in the grass. We had no place else to be, so I settled in beside her on the grass and rubbed her belly until my shoulder tired out. She loved every second of it, then quietly got back into her kennel to settle in for the night.

Well, last night, she was a brand new dog! She came out of her kennel ready for her walk. She stopped at my feet and wagged her tail, almost as if she remembered me from the last couple of weeks. She walked, even pranced a couple of times, and stopped to visit with other walking volunteers, wagging her tail at them too. It was all I could do not to tear up at her progress. She is a sweet and beautiful dog, and she just needs some patience, love, and the occasional belly rub in the grass.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “On Vixen”

  1. I’m a Big Sister… to a Dog « Austin Pet Memories Photography Says:

    […] Austin Pet Memories Photography Capturing the memories « On Vixen […]

  2. Next up for Spoiling: Louie « Austin Pet Memories Photography Says:

    […] it was Vixen. I fell in love with her as my first “little sister” in the Austin Pets Alive! Big […]

  3. jodi Says:

    just the sweetest.

Leave a Reply

