Spoil ’em Rotten

I love the Austin Pets Alive! Big Brothers/Sisters program! I met my new “little” today, Candy. It makes my heart smile to know that she’ll find a loving home soon after being on a euthanasia list just last week. She’s a true beauty, part French Bulldog from the looks of it. Her coat is amazing, she’s not a big fan of the camera, and I can’t wait to see her continue to blossom.

Sweet Candy

And then there’s Mangy Max, my other “little,” who is making great progress every day. He’s a lanky, almost clumsy boy, with probably the longest legs at APA! right now. He’s a friendly boy, loves treats and loves to bark at birds to get away from his food.

I know some volunteers and visitors are hesitant to love on him because of his mange (which, again, is responding very well to treatment), but I talked to our family vet about that last week, worried about bringing it home. She said the possibility is incredibly slim. That by sanitizing before and after loving on each animal and keeping things clean, we’re doing just the right things. She pointed out that with all the mange she’s come into contact with, she’s never taken it home to her pets. That’s good, because Max deserves just as much love as anyone else.

Handsome Max

I hope they both get adopted soon, but until then, I’m giving them treats, making them new blankets, taking them on walks and giving them all the bellyrubs they can stand.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Spoil ’em Rotten”

  1. Summer Huggins Says:

    Max has been adopted! I hope he and his new family are having a blast together!

  2. Anne Says:

    You are so awesome!!!!

  3. Laurie Says:

    Candy is my favorite snuggle bear at APA. Hopefully, she will find her furever home soon. Go Candy!

Leave a Reply

